Nine Valentines

2006: Philadelphia, PA

Our first Valentine’s Day together, our third year of law school.  We went to a pizza place down the street from the apartment I shared with my best friend Dan and split the bill before heading to the Penn v. Princeton basketball game.

So young and unwrinkled!

So young and unwrinkled!

Two fun facts: (1) it was my first Princeton basketball game, despite the fact that I spent 4 years in much closer proximity to them, and (2) it was our first technical “date”, despite the fact that we had been together for over 4 months already.  Apparently our entire relationship up to that point consisted of drinking cheap beer at home or in crappy bars, and…ummm….studying the penal code.

In the midst of the "Fat Phase" of relationships, which comes immediately after the "Honeymoon Period" and some time before the "Gahhh, Can You Not Eat So Loud??!" phase.

In the midst of the “Fat Period” that all relationships go through, which comes immediately after the “Honeymoon Phase” and some time before the “Gahhh, Can You Not Eat So Loud??! Era”.

2007: New York, NY

We went to Les Halles, where the entire staff seemed genuinely surprised that people still went there, let alone made reservations as we had.

It was also a particularly icy evening, due to both the melting aftermath of a brutal NY winter storm and my constant nagging about when, exactly, Shane was planning to finally propose to me (I had already booked the venue, so this was not just an academic concern) (yes, I am crazy)(and maybe a little controlling, possibly?).  I am almost 100% certain that I refrained from pouting or bitching the entire night, after declaring a week earlier that I would bitch no more but might “start making other plans”.  He is certain that I did.  I guess we will never know.  (We know).

SIDE NOTE: Because there is no night quite as romantic as February 15th, and because the guy has great comic timing, he proposed to me the next night.  The proposal, the gorgeous ring, and the surprise trip to Paris that weekend were all well worth the wait.

Look how PARALLEL our EYEBROWS are!  It's like we were meant to be together.

Look how precisely aligned our eyebrows are!  We pass the New York Times photographic compatibility test with flying colors.

2008: Colorado

We were on a ski trip with 4 of our closest friends, also couples.  It turns out it was also Will’s first ski trip, though we had absolutely no idea that THAT was why I was unbearably exhausted and nauseous the whole time.

2009-2012: New York, NY (We think)

Although Valentine’s Day certainly must have occurred during these years, we have absolutely no memory of what exactly we did with them.  I do recall Shane meeting me in Grand Central with a bouquet of roses after work one year and a quick Gmail search reveals that, in 2011, we ordered Grand Szechuan from Seamless Web.

Photos reveal that Shane was also treated to an early morning be-gloved serenade.  Fancy.

Photos reveal that Shane was also treated to an early morning be-gloved serenade. Fancy.

Though apparently unmemorable, I’m sure each  was filled with wildly romantic gestures and extravagant displays of affection.  Or, perhaps, Thomas the Train and passing out on the couch at 9 PM with a half-finished bottle of rosé.  Either/or.

2013: New York, NY

Valentine’s Day 2013 was the hottest one yet!

Is that a fire in our apartment, or are you just happy to see me?

Is that a fire in our apartment, or are you just happy to see me?

Mostly because our apartment almost burned down the night before.

So, on Valentine’s Day, we were stuck living in the hotel across the street while our home was made livable again.  Even though it was a logistical nightmare, and I was suffering from self-diagnosed PTSD from having to run shoe- and bra-less out of a burning building carrying both my frightened children in the middle of the night, we were all alive so it truly was the greatest Valentine’s Day of all.

Best Valentine's Day dates ever.

Best Valentine’s Day dates ever.

2014: London, England

My sweet husband rushed home from work with a lovely card and a box of fancy-pants chocolates to find a grumpy, annoyed wife who had (passive aggressively?) failed to find time to even round up a card at the drug store.  We walked all over Primrose Hill looking for a restaurant that suited my rather-undefined criteria for the appropriate meal for the night, before ending up at a perfectly suitable Mediterranean joint.  I calmed down after a few glasses of wine, we both loved the food, and we weren’t impaled by any tree limbs during the walk home through 1,000,000 mph (or, I should probably say kph) winds.  Perfect night.

One thought on “Nine Valentines

Leave a Reply

